Home > About Us > Associations, Organizations & Events > Pi Alpha Alpha

Pi Alpha Alpha

Faculty Advisors

Dr. Dragan Stanisevski - dstanisevski@pspa.msstate.edu
Dr. Sawsan Abutabenjeh - sawsan.abutabenjeh@msstate.edu
Dr. Julius Nukpezah - jan214@msstate.edu


PAA Logo

Each year our department honors our Pi Alpha Alpha inductees at an impressive luncheon, where an accomplished public servant is also honored and speaks about an important issue facing our future public administrators.

Pi Alpha Alpha is the national honor society for the field of public affairs and public administration. Those universities and colleges that are members of the National Association of Schools of Public Affairs and Administration (NASPAA) are eligible to establish a PAA Chapter.

The purpose of this society is to encourage and recognize outstanding scholarship and accomplishment in public affairs and administration. The society seeks to promote the advancement of quality in the education and practice of the art and science of public affairs and administration. PAA fosters integrity, professionalism and effective performance in the conduct of government and related public service activities. PAA membership identifies those students with the highest performance levels in educational programs, preparing them for public service careers.

Distinguished honorary members of the MSU chapter of Pi Alpha Alpha include: Dr. Alton Cobb; Morris W.H. Collins, Jr.; Ms. Ann Cook; Senator Bob Crook; Mayor Kenneth D. Dill; Oleta Garrett Fitzgerald; Dr. Randy Hendrix; Ms. Beverly Hogan; Mayor Harvey Johnson; Mr. Bob Klimetz; Mr. Henrene Matthews; Honorable Dick Molpus; Dr. Jim McComas; Dr. Jim Meredith; Mr. D.B. Ross; Mr. J.K. Stringer; Mr. Hugh Jack Stubbs; Ms. Helen Taylor; Mr. Morris Thigpen; Mr. Roy Thigpen; Mr. John Turcotte; Mayor Robert M. Walker; and Governor William Winter. A complete list of honorary members is provided here.

To learn more about the National Honor Society for Public Affairs and Administration, visit their website by clicking here.

Contact Info

Department of Political Science
and Public Administration
Department Phone: 662.325.2711
Department Fax: 662.325.2716
Mailing Address: P. O. Box PC
Mississippi State University, MS 39762
Department Office: 105 Bowen Hall
Email address:polscipubadm@pspa.msstate.edu